Sewing


my dad came yesterday and gave my old Singer sewing machine a full service and oil and it’s running better than ever 

 

It’s model 222k featherweight from around 1958/9 and it has never had a problem it runs very smoothly and I much prefer it to the newer plastic models available now. I got it second hand about 6 years ago it’s my first sewing machine and I’m so glad I got it there’s just an extra feeling when your using it, like its history. What was previously sewn by this machine? 

It was an elderly lady I purchased it from as she was going to throw it out! I’m so glad I got the opportunity to buy it before she did! She must of used it a lot as it came with all the accessories, most of which I haven’t got round to trying yet! It has embroidery hoops, two different hemers, quilter etc and all in original boxes and original instructions!

   

One day I’ll he round to trying them all but for now I’m just delighted with the way it’s running after my dad looked at it and ecstatic that I can get back to sewing!

Here is Tess modelling the narrow leopard print head collar 

   

And of course Roxy couldn’t be left out not that she’d let me!

   

8 thoughts on “Sewing

  1. “They don’t make them like they used to” is a pretty much cliched phrase but, in the case of Singer Sewing Machines ………… the modern machines are not even close for efficiency and longevity. You have a collectors item there (but of course you already know that!). ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I love it these newer models from any manufacturer just doesn’t feel right they feel well plastic! Lol can’t imagine them lasting 50 + years! And the great thing is parts are still available for this model ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow!! My granny had one of those. It’s still at my mum’s house. Does yours have the round handle at the side?
    And what great photos of the girls ๐Ÿ™‚ Such beautiful big brown eyes!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it has a round handle at the side which is easier to use than newer versions I find. Lol yes it’s those eyes I find difficult to say no to or hive into trouble! But also the eyes I wake up to every morning full of love x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Did you ever read my post about doing battle with an electric sewing machine? It might give you a chuckle ๐Ÿ™‚
        Isn’t that just the best thing to wake up to? ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Your 2 pence is welcome here

