Dog-gone bananas, bandana day!


This week I have been busy making dog bandanas for the Staffie Smiles Rescue Facebook auction to help raise funds for the dogs in their care.

I have been measuring, cutting out and ironing all week and this morning finally got to the easiest step of sewing. I sewed 48 on my sewing machine this morning and got some of them posted to the rescue. I only managed to send some of the bandanas as I ran out of labels on my labeller machine so I have to wait for the refills to arrive. I labelled each bandana with Staffie Smiles Rescue so that the winning bidders know where they got it from so when they want another they know where they got it from.

Trusted sewing machine
Trusted sewing machine

I buy fat quarters of material on eBay to make the bandanas or if I really like the fabric design I will buy a half metre. A fat quarter will make two bandanas whilst the half metre makes 4. I purchase these smaller quantities of fabrics as I like to be able to offer a variety of patterns due to everyone’s tastes being different. Also dog bandanas that are available to buy are usually very plain so I like mine to be that bit different, so the odds are very low for you meeting another dog in the same bandana!

Hearts
Hearts
Walkies
Walkies
Party paws
Party paws
Ice creams
Ice creams
Canine courier
Canine courier
Punk paper
Punk paper
Pawsome paws
Pawsome paws
Bone bonanza
Bone bonanza
Pretty paws
Pretty paws

Most of my bandanas are made from cotton but I have also made brushed cotton and fleece ones to keep your dogs warmer in the winter.

Selection of camo in fleece
Selection of camo in fleece

The cotton ones can be soaked in cold water to keep your dogs cool in the summer or whilst travelling in the car, so they are more than just a fashion statement.

these ones below are a bit more work than the others as the white cross of the saltire has to be cut and stitched on prior to hemming the blue bandana. It takes a bit longer to do but I think the result is worth the effort especially to raise funds for a Scottish dog charity.

Saltire flag bandana
Saltire flag bandana

This year as I had left over material, I tried my hand at doing bandanas that slip over the dogs collar rather than tieing so will fit a broader range of breed sizes and I am impressed with the result so is probably something that I will continue to do as it gets rid of the leftover material that has been piling up over the last few years!

Slips onto collar
Slips onto collar

so whilst I was up to my neck in bandanas the dogs were driving me bananas literally they were doing zoomies all round me while I stitched because I had made them some banana and oat treats which they love so they were showing off to get some more – which they did!

If you are interested in taking a look at the auction where these will be sold you can find it here –    https://www.facebook.com/auctionforstaffiesmiles?pnref=story   there are a lot of non dog related lots as well so just because you don’t own a dog doesn’t mean you can’t help out many as well as getting yourself something nice into the bargain, it’s a win win situation, so you’ve got nothing to lose by taking a look and good luck with your bidding…….

Your 2 pence is welcome here

