Harley’s 9th day in foster


Harley has been here 9 days today and is improving daily, not that he’s got much improving to do behaviour wise, more building his confidence and making him feel secure.

All four of us have been several walks together now although I haven’t managed to get photos of them due to grappling three leads! They all enjoy their walks together and Harley ends up in the middle as both Tess and Coal want to walk next to him, which Harley loves. When he’s not in the middle he plods but when he is in the middle his staffie swagger comes out and he looks like a wee man about the town! So cute with his bouncing head and wiggly bum! Also he has learned from walking with Coal and Tess to use his nose more.

Harley doesn’t really know what to do with toys yet and is unsure of Tess and Coal playing, so after getting advice from Staffie Smiles Rescue (who I am fostering him for) I closed Harley in the livingroom via the baby gate and played with Coal and Tess in the hall so Harley could watch, after a few throws of the ball Harley started barking but not lungeing – he was wanting to join in the play so I threw a ball for him he ran after it and then started chewing it and wouldn’t bring it back to me but he allowed me to take it from him then he chased it again and chewing it. I left it with him to chew and he managed to chew it in half! So he’s starting to get the hang of it. On his next walk I took a ball with me to throw for him but I had to go get the ball as he showed no interest. Too many interesting smells and wee mails to check out, to be bothered with a ball!

imageimage

Strong chewer
Strong chewer
End of ball!
End of ball!

He is becoming more relaxed in the house as well you can feel it in the atmosphere. So much so that he is jumping up beside Tess and I on the couch and cuddling in with us both, he’s not at that stage with Coal yet but they are lieing in beds nearer each other now.

Tess with Harley cuddled in
Tess with Harley cuddled in
image
Harley at front of photo, Coal on footstool and Tess on couch

Harley is still not sure what to do with his rope monkey toy that he got from Pawpost. When I throw it he jumps up and catches it but then doesn’t know what to do with it, so just drops it and either puts his head or foot on it, so I’m going to show him Tess and Coal playing with one of their soft toys today, then he can see how they play with it. He does like it though as you can see from the photos, he just needs a bit of guidance.

imageimage

In this next photo it’s difficult to tell if it is Harley or Tess (it’s Harley) as they look very similar. Their brindle markings are almost identical, just the size of head and chest differs between them as Tess is very petite being the runt of her litter and female.

image
Harley or Tess?!

I love this next photo of Harley as it really shows how cute he is! This was just after he had a treat of freshly cooked liver, you can tell he really enjoyed it! Lol

image

Harley had some visitors yesterday, with a view of getting his forever home but it was not to be! He was good with the humans who met him in the house first and they really liked him. So after getting petted I got him ready to go out a walk with them and their dog. They went to their car whilst I took Hatley down to the bottom of my path to wait on them returning with their dog, but Harley wanted to go with them! When he saw them coming back he was happy to see them, then their dog sniffed where Harley had just peed. I walked in front with Harley to allow thei dog to smell Harley first then swapped over but neither dog showed any interest in the other, they never even glanced at each other. I gave Harley’s lead to the prospective adopter, whilst her friend held her dog on the left side of Harley. Then Harley showed me up! He has never pulled me once not even in the slightest, but he was pulling to the right to gain more distance from the other dog. He then lunged at their dog but no contact was made as he stopped himself, and their dog didn’t react at all so couldn’t of felt threatened by Harley. Which is a great sign. He then pulled the lady on the way back as he wanted to get home. I don’t think it would take much perseverance to stop this happening and once Harley is neutered it should improve as well, but the potential adopters dog is 12 years old so wouldn’t be fair to put it through living with a dog that it wasn’t 100% comfortable with. Harley has another visitor coming on Friday morning, they also have a male staffy so I hope that Harley and him get on better than he did yesterday with Sidney!

My friend thinks he has chosen me but then I wouldn’t be able to help any other dog as I know that I couldn’t manage 4 dogs. Going from one to two dogs wasn’t much difference, in fact in some ways is easier as they keep each other occupied and amused. I have found three dogs to be harder though only due to the extra walking and even though I use my mobility scooter to walk them, it still hurts my back going over bumps in the road. My back has been giving me a lot more pain because of this extra walks, even though Harley is great on the lead. At least I managed to cut one walk out as I can now take them one walk a day, all together then walk them separately on their other daily walks.

If you think you could give Harley his forever home or to find out more about him and the other staffies in their care, please visit – http://www.staffiesmilesrescue.co.uk where you will be able to fill out the adoption application as well

image

Your 2 pence is welcome here

