life is not a beach….


If I could only name one thing that bothers me most about my mobility problems (except the pain etc) it would be the lack of spontaneity and missing out on things! Like this morning my mum phoned me up to say “as it is a sunny (albeit cold) day I was going to take the dogs to the beach, would you like to come with your dogs?” Now all year I have been desperate to get my dogs to the beach as they have only been once, well Coal has been twice, as we stay quiet far from any beaches, but they both loved it and its good for their joints, so I would have LOVED to be able to say YES this morning, had it not been for my back! but in order for me to travel any distance in the car I have to rest for days prior to the journey and have extra medication on hand. The car vibrations go right up my spine and I feel every tiny bump on the road, even with 3 cushions, so I am done in and fit for nothing when I arrive at my destination and still have the journey back to do!

I love this photo with the sand on Coals nose
I love this photo with the sand on Coals nose
IMG_3089
first time together at the beach

Now I know a lot of you will be thinking (the ones that read my blog anyway!) that it is November and hardly beach weather, but its not for sunbathing! It is to get the salt air around us all, which should hopefully have some effect on my bones as well as the dogs and give the dogs a good run, as we all know it is harder work running on sand than grass, but also to give the dogs new smells, and to get some nice photos!

jumping for seaweed
jumping for seaweed
Tess's first time at the beach
Tess’s first time at the beach

The thing about going to the beach with the dogs at this time of year is that the beach is quiet so the dogs can run around off lead not bothering anyone and as long as you wrap up warm and have towels and the dogs hotter jumpers for the journey home to wick away the moisture from their coats so they’re not cold it is really invigorating and can give you that burst of mental energy that seems to subside with the darker mornings and evenings, it certainly blows the cobwebs away anyway!

I have a paddling pool and sandpit in my garden for the dogs in the Summer as they love the feeling of sand under their paws and lying on the sand is cooling for them like the water in the paddling pool but this is not the same as getting them to the beach. It doesn’t have the same health benefits as being in the sea air does, or the exciting new smells.

Coal in the sandpit
Coal in the sandpit
Coal & Tess in their paddling pool
Coal & Tess in their paddling pool

I really would have loved to take them today, but it was something my mum only decided this morning so was unable to give me any notice beforehand, but it really depresses me that I am unable to say YES when I really want to do something. But that is how life is for me now and it takes some getting used to even after 8 years! Luckily for me my mum decided not to go to the beach today as by the time they got there it would be starting to get dark. I say luckily for me as now I won’t be sitting here all day wondering what they’re doing and annoyed that I’m not with them and hurting that I couldn’t give the dogs that pleasure.

my mum with Jura (RIP) and Buffy at the TentsMuir Beach
my mum with Jura (RIP) and Buffy at the TentsMuir Beach
My mums rotti's Ghia (RIP), Jura (RIP) and Buffy at the beach
My mums rotti’s Ghia (RIP), Jura (RIP) and Buffy at the beach

Also another reason that I so would have loved going today is that Tess has a sore paw and the salt and sand would have helped it to heal quicker. My mum covers the dogs in sand to help their joints as can be seen in the above photo.

3 Reasons Going to the Beach Is Good for Your Health

But not only is going to the beach loads of fun, it’s also good for your health. And here’s why:

You’ll walk barefoot in the sand:

One of the things I love about going to the beach is feeling the warm sand against my feet. Did you know that there are over 200,000 nerve endings on the soles of your feet? And walking barefoot stimulates them much more than walking in shoes. No wonder walking barefoot in the sand feels like a succession of blissful explosions on the bottom of my feet. Not only are you stimulating nerve endings, but when you walk on wet sand, you’re also exfoliating dead skin cells from your heels. And you’re strengthening all the muscles in your feet, muscles which don’t get used as much when you’re wearing shoes. Walking in the sand allows you to make direct, physical contact with the earth. This is important because when we directly connect with the earth, we’re getting a sufficient supply of electrons, which supports our immune system to function at an optimal level.

You’ll spend some time in the ocean:

On a hot summer day, there’s nothing like having the cool, ocean water splashing against your skin. Plus, the ocean contains many minerals that help the body heal and detoxify. Among the many minerals found in the sea is iodine. Iodine helps the body fight infection while boosting thyroid function. The sea also contains magnesium, a mineral that has a calming effect on our nerves. Swimming has been known to decrease stress and increase a sense of well-being in most people. Conditions such as psoriasis, arthritis, and depression even show signs of improvement after a nice long swim. Seawater increases elasticity of skin, improving its appearance. It also improves circulation, helping the body to carry blood to all its vital organs.

Read more: http://www.care2.com/greenliving/3-reasons-going-to-the-beach-is-good-for-your-health.html#ixzz3JtKDFXn4

Coal testing the water
Coal testing the water
deciding its worth further investigation
deciding its worth further investigation
yup this is ok
yup this is ok
wait a minute its too cold!
wait a minute its too cold!

I don’t think Tess would lie still long enough for her paw to be covered in sand but at least she would be running through the sand and getting it in between her toes and also running on sand would probably do less damage to her already sore paw than running on grass/concrete. So although it may not be any more rested than her walks at home it is at least getting some benefit that it wouldn’t otherwise.

always with a ball in her mouth!
always with a ball in her mouth!
trying to catch the waves
trying to catch the waves

Thankfully after checking my weather app, next Saturday is meant to be nicer than today and as my mum had decided it was too late to go today we have planned to go next Saturday, so that gives me a week to rest up in preparation, but as those of you with pain will know even when something has been planned and you take as many precautions as you can running up to the event, you never know when a flare up or a bad fall can happen, as if we did we could prevent it. So I am keeping my fingers crossed that that doesn’t happen! Touch wood…..because I want to touch sand!

Your 2 pence is welcome here

