Fireworks


Fireworks time of year again, although now fireworks go off Christmas/New Years/weddings/birthdays/any other celebration but mostly this time of year with Guy Fawkes night. Fireworks can be a nightmare for dogs. Coal shakes and hides and wants cuddled all night whereas Tess shakes at the start of them but then ignores them as best she can, which is no mean feat where I stay, as there are 3 displays surrounding my house and everyone in my area seems to let them off with my house in the middle of it all, I liken it to what I presume the Blitz sounded like! They seem to get let off earlier and earlier in the month even though they don’t go on sale until a certain date, and the cost of them has went through the roof, I dont know how people can afford it – me, I would just be watching them go off thinking that’s £20, there’s another £10, oh and that’s  a £50 one! Money to burn/ watch it go up in smoke springs to mind! Don’t get me wrong I enjoy fireworks but would rather go to a display than waste huge amounts of money on buying them myself.

Tanya, my previous dog, actually loved watching the fireworks, she came to displays with me and watched them out the window as well but that’s not the case with either Tess or Coal, even though Tess is better with them I wouldn’t say she felt comfortable but definitely not as anxious as Coal. So around a month before fireworks night I play a dog fireworks cd to them starting at the lowest volume so they can barely hear it and gradually increase the volume throughout the month until it’s at is loudest, so that it gets them used to ignoring the noise. They also both have a Thunder shirt and I make a little den for Coal to hide in by placing a couple of blankets over the coffee table so he’s near enough to come out for a cuddle, though I don’t fuss over him when he comes to me I just cuddle him as normal as if you start fussing and cooing then it verifies to him that there is something to be worried about. This year I am trying out the Adaptil plug in diffuser, I plugged it in yesterday and they have been more sleepy than usual but I will withhold judgement on it until after the 5th November – Remember, remember……….

Coal in his hidey hole under the table  IMG_0396

Coal in his Thundershirt
Coal in his Thundershirt
Tess in her pink Thundershirt
Tess in her pink Thundershirt
 Tess Modelling Thundershirt
Tess Modelling Thundershirt
Tara in her Thundershirt
Tara in her Thundershirt
Adaptil Diffuser
Adaptil Diffuser
2 thoughts on “Fireworks

  1. Amen! I and my cats hate the loud noises, and fireworks frenzies feel a little like being under siege. I worry too about what fireworks are like for the countless wildlife creatures in range. It’s hard to understand what keeps so many people from being aware of, or caring about, the effects such auditory violence can have on others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I too have often thought about the surrounding wildlife not with just the noise but the after effects of rubbish or stray explosive materials as I get the debris in my garden

      Like

Your 2 pence is welcome here

